Rekishi 歴史

Toyama Ryu Batto Jutsu was founded was founded in 1925 as a modern sword school – as a system for cutting testing with martial applications. Toyama Ryu named his style as Batto Jutsu, so highlighted the main part of the school.

Batto Jutsu – is a Japanese term for martial art of quick and martial draw of the sword, which is closely connected with kenjutsu and trains exclusively with real swords with sharp blade – SHINKEN. Training contains high combat effectiveness focusing on distance, timing and targeting.

In 1873 was founded in Toyama in Tokyo, Japan, a special school for training military officers of the Imperial Army of Japan and was called Rikugun Toyama Gakko or even Toyama Army Academy. At this school, was besides sword fighting also taught a knife, bayonet, jujutsu and sumo. This school has led to the creation of Toyama Ryu as we know it today.

Toyama Ryu was founded in 1925 and originally was named Gunto no Soho.

Morinaga Kiyoshi, who at the time was the director of Kenjutsu Konkyu Kai at Toyama Academy asked for help in the development of curricula of schools Hakudo Nakayama, who at the time was 16th Soke Shimomura-ha Muso Ryu Iaido Jikiden Eishin. Nakayama Hakudo studied Shimomura-ha Tosa Iai under Hosokawa Yoshimasa and Tanimura-ha under Morimoto Tokumi and received Menkyo Kaiden in Omori Ryu and Hasegawa Eishin Ryu. Thanks to that, Toyama Ryu has roots in famous traditional Japanese Koryu. Gunto no Soho from the beginning consisted of five kata and Tameshigiri.

In 1939, Morinaga Kiyoshi modifies the original kata, varies fifth kata and adds two more.
Since the end of World War II until 1952 was in Japan prohibited any martial arts, so also teaching of Toyama Ryu stagnated. When the martial arts in Japan was again permitted, the three original instructors meet each other at the Toyama Military Academy, received the right to teach Toyama Ryu and established three main lines of school:
Morinaga Kiyoshi – Dai Nippon Toyama Ryu Iaido Kai (Osaka)
Nakamura Taizaburo – Zen Nihon Toyama Ryu Iaido Renmei (Yokohama)
Yamaguchi Yuuki – Nihon Toyama Ryu Iaido So-Renmei (Sapporo, Hokkaido)

1. Dai Nippon Toyama Ryu Iaido Kai (Osaka). Was founded by Morinaga Kiyoshi Sensei in 1986. This system teaches the 5 original kata of 1925, plus another 3 kata, which was introduced in 1939. Morinaga Sensei also served on the Toyama Military Academy, where he started as a lieutenant. He was originally the one who sent the request of the army to Nakayama Hakudo and asked him for his help in creating effective fighting techniques with an army sword. During his military career, Morinaga Sensei gradually became captain, major, lieutenant colonel and kenjutsu instructor at Toyama Academy. Then, as a lieutenant colonel became director of fencing on academy where incorporated some changes and in 1939 added some new kata. Nowadays leads this organization Tokutomi Tasaburo – 10th dan Toyama Ryu Hon Iaido.


2. Zen Nihon Toyama Ryu Iaido Renmei (Yokohama). Was founded by Nakamura Taizaburo who was born in 1911. This system uses 8 Toyama Ryu Iai kata as they were taught in 1939, when Nakamura Sensei came to the academy. After graduation he was sent to
China to teach there martial arts including kenjutsu (Toyama Ryu) Jukenjutsu (bayonet) and Tankenjutsu (dagger bayonet).

3. Zen Nihon Toyama Ryu Iaido So Renmei (Sapporo, Hokkaido). Was founded Yamaguchi Yuuki who was born in 1900. Yamaguchi Sensei was also an instructor at the Toyama Academy. His teaching was very similar to what Nakamura Sensei taught (version 1939). Except that Yamaguchi Sensei joined to his teaching the Neo-Shinto religious aspect. (same as Morihei Ueshiba when he wrapped Daito Ryu Aikijujutsu to Neo-Shinto religion and created Aikido). Then, also Yamaguchi Sensei added in 1980 Hontai Yoshin ryu jujutsu to the trainings in Toyama Ryu.

4. Nakamura Ryu Battodo. Was founded in 1953 by Nakamura Taizaburo.
Toyama Ryu Iaido is the foundation for Nakamura Ryu Battodo.

There are currently several separate lines of Toyama Ryu which we can find in Japan especially in regions Kanto, Kansai and Tokai.